Posted by: Tina | February 10, 2010

Workout #20 (track = pain)

Today was a hard track workout. It was one of those workouts where you really think about stopping part way through and have to muster all your mental fortitude to keep going. After warming up, I had to run 200 metres at my perceived race pace, then walk/jog for 200 m, run 400 metres at race pace, walk/jog for 200, and so on. I set my race pace at 45 minutes for a 10km run, which put me at 54 seconds for each 200 metre increment. I had to keep going until I was unable to make the distance in the allotted time, at which time I had to go back down to 200 metres. The first few distances, I made in well under the time, but I got slower and slower each set until I pretty much exactly made 1000 metres, at which time I went back down to 200 metres as I couldn’t face attempting 1200 metres. The goal of the workout was to find my 5km pace – what I can hold for 200m and consistently hold for the entire set.

This workout was challenging and, quite frankly, I highly doubt I would be able to hold that pace for an entire 5km. That said, in a race situation, I might be able to with the adrenaline pumping and excitement in the air. Still, I have a long way to go. Running is probably my least favourite and hardest part of the triathlon, which doesn’t bode well since I have heard that the best triathletes start out with running as their base sport.

Anyhow, I was pretty proud of myself, completing the workout on a grey, wet, cold, and windy February day on the empty track at Swangard.

Responses

  1. […] up, I basically had to run 8 x 200m at race pace, with a 200 m recovery between each. As with before, with my race pace at 45 minutes for 10 km, each 200m had to be complete in under 54 seconds.  I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

