Posted by: Tina | February 26, 2010

Workout #33 (the dreaded brick)

Today I made up the bike ride I shirked on Tuesday because I chose to drink beer and watch hockey instead. Doing it today worked out well because I got to skip my scheduled 90-minute ride on the road which would have been miserable and wet. I much preferred to be on our covered deck on the trainer. The workout was just some drills with increasing my cadence over time. It started out pretty easy, but ended up being extremely hard when I got up to holding 110rpm for 2 minutes. The gear I chose was definitely too high, which was confirmed by Kristina afterward when she said I probably shouldn’t be in the big ring at all when doing cadence work. Next time, I will know.

The bike workout was immediately followed by a 10 minute run, 5 minutes at race pace, and then 5 minutes easy. It wasn’t too bad at all and I felt surprisingly fast. I did not experience the dreaded lead legs, but maybe that was because the run was so short.

Then pizza and hockey – Canada vs. Slovakia! Obviously the good guys won.

Leave a Reply

Categories

