Posted by: Tina | March 1, 2010

Workout #35 (stress relief)

Yet again, I almost caved to the voice in my head telling me not to swim today, but I overcame it. The voice was loudest right when I was trying to figure out how much in RRSPs I could buy before the midnight deadline and my daughter was standing next to me telling me she needed to go pee while peeing all over the floor. I felt unable to cope, and I wanted to curl up on the couch, close my eyes, and shut it all out. The ironic thing is that exercise is pretty much my main way of dealing with stress, partly because physical activity feels good, and partly because training alone is my guaranteed time away from things like RRSPs and my daughter standing in a puddle of her own pee. Luckily, I realized this, and I managed to head to the pool. I think swimming is the hardest for me to do because it is a lot more work. I have to drive there, change, swim, then change again, and drive home. Running and biking are right from the door, so both seem like less work.

Anyhow, it ended up being a great swim. It started with 800m continuous, and then I had some other sets. I felt really fast and strong on the 800m, but I didn’t time it so you’ll have to take my word for it. It probably had something to do with the fact that the lane was full of much older people doing the perpendicular breaststroke, so I felt fast passing them. Nothing to gloat over, but it certainly added to my self-perception of spectacular speed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

