Posted by: Tina | March 5, 2010

Workout #39 (Biking in the sun)

I was scheduled for a 1hr 40min outside ride, so I rode out to Horseshoe Bay in the morning, then took the ferry to Bowen Island and biked to visit a friend there. The ride on Bowen was short but tough because I basically had 3km of uphill. It was a great workout though. The only part of the ride that I dislike is getting through downtown – even with the improved bike lanes – and breathing in the exhaust on the Stanley Park Causeway on the approach to the Lion’s Gate Bridge. I could have gone around the park and up the Prospect Point hill to get on the bridge, but I wasn’t sure if I would have enough time to do that and make it to the ferry on time (in retrospect, this was a good decision).

Today was a bit of a reality check for me. When I was training for the Hoodoo 500 bike race in 2008, the ride to Whytecliff Park (just past Horseshoe Bay) and back got to be pretty easy peasy, and I could do it in a relatively short amount of time. Today, it felt way harder and took much longer than I remember. At one point I was concerned that I wouldn’t make it to Horseshoe Bay in time to catch the ferry! Still, it felt really nice to be out in the sunshine on my bike. I truly do love riding.

Tomorrow, I rest. Then it is a recovery week. I am so happy about that.

Leave a Reply

Categories

