Posted by: Tina | March 13, 2010

Rest and recovery

Today is my scheduled rest day, but I took one yesterday as well. And I really don’t feel guilty about it. I think knowing that this is a recovery week allowed me to slack off with my usually pretty solid discipline, so I took two whole days off that weren’t supposed to be days off! I did make up my Monday workout on another day, but yesterday’s swim has definitely gone into oblivion.

I just finished reading the article, Do I need a rest?, and I feel like I have obeyed my body this week. The next three weeks I’ll be back in the build phase of training, so I will not allow myself to slack off. The next two weeks are going to be a challenge though, as I don’t have daytime childcare so I have to do my workouts at night, when I find it most difficult to motivate myself. I treasure that hour and a half of peace and quiet between getting the kids down to bed and getting myself to bed.

This week, this article – Easy Means Easy – from Joe Friel was also instructive. I’m glad I read it before my recovery week, because it is often challenging for me to go easy when I’m told to do so. I spent so many years sticking to the philosophy of “go as hard as you can as often as you can” that it is useful to be reminded of why that isn’t the best philosophy. A couple of times on my rides this week, I really had to back off because they were supposed to be “easy” rides. I figure if Joe Friel, one of the most well-known and respected triathlon and cycling coaches in the world says it is so, it is probably worth heeding his advice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

