Posted by: Tina | March 18, 2010

Workouts #47 (hard enough to puke) and #48

My workout on Tuesday was the next in the series of track workouts Kristina has had me doing. It was raining and very windy so I did some research to find out how I could approximate the same workout on a treadmill. I know it isn’t the track, but it does have going for it the fact that I can set my pace and just stick with it for the allotted amount of time. I found these treadmill pace conversions, and after some calculations converting the metric distances, I worked out the appropriate times for me to complete 8x800m at my 5km race pace (200 m recovery between each).

I felt pretty wobbly by the last two intervals and by the fourth 800m I wondered if I would be able to make it through all eight. I also felt terrible for the rest of the night. I am worried that I may have set too ambitious of a time for myself – I have trouble believing I could hold that pace for an entire 5km without the recovery intervals. By the last two sets, I hardly felt recovered at the end of each recovery interval. Anyhow, it was a tough and terrible workout. And when I woke up in the morning, I still felt terrible.

Luckily, Wednesday’s workout was just an easy 60 minute ride on the trainer. The sun was shining so it was a nice follow-up to the previous day’s workout.

Leave a Reply

Categories

