Posted by: Tina | March 30, 2010

Workout #57 (5km test run)

Today I was scheduled for the dreaded track. Basically, it was a 5km test run, with a 10 minute warm-up and cooldown on both ends. Instead of the track, I decided to do the 5km Terry Fox loop at Central Park instead. The track would probably have been better because a) it is completely pancake flat and the loop trail has some tiny ups and downs, and b) some sections of the trail have recently been upgraded but the trail markings have not so I wasn’t sure where to go somewhere between 3.5 and 5km. This is my long-winded way of saying that I don’t think my times are precisely accurate. But, I was pretty close to my anticipated overall race pace so I’ll just go with it.

Kristina told me to try to hold 4:29/km as my race pace, and I ended up pretty close. This may not be fast to many others out there, but it sure is fast for me! My time was 22:43 overall. My 1km split times were: 4:21, 4:37, 4:06, 5:15, 4:21.

The reason I slowed down so much in kilometer 4 was that is where the trail stopped being marked, and it kind of petered out so I ran around a bit guessing where the trail was based on my knowledge of the map and the area (the trail is actually missing now, so I sort of had to improvise). Also, I’m pretty sure the posts marking distance are not precise as kilometer 3 felt like it went by way faster than the others and, ta dah, the time reflects this.

Overall, it wasn’t as tough as I thought it would be and truth be told, I could probably have gone even a little bit faster.

Leave a Reply

Categories

