Posted by: Tina | April 16, 2010

Workout #69 (double brick in the sun)

I took yesterday off because I woke up feeling terrible. The chest cold/cough thing I’ve been fighting got the best of me and I decided to just skip my swim workout in favour of sleeping in and then lolling about on the couch whenever the kids let me have an opportunity.

Today, however, was a different story. My intention was to take it easy on the scheduled double brick, but it is such a nice day out and it’s hard not to feel enthusiastic with the sun shining. I went pretty hard, and still managed to maintain the same pace for both run portions (at 5km race pace). It got pretty hot, especially the second bike portion with the sun right on my back. It made me realize that outside training is about to get much tougher as temperatures warm up. I have a tendency to under-hydrate, a habit which is going to bite me in he ass as summer approaches. I need to remind myself to drink way more water than I do currently.

Also, I’ve been wondering what cadence I should be racing at. Found this article about the topic, and it sounds like I would probably be a high cadence type rider, but I’m not sure. I will ask Kristina for her thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Categories

