Posted by: Tina | April 20, 2010

Workout #71 (nausea in the pool)

A thoroughly unpleasant swim yesterday. I got to the aquatic centre early so I could have a lane almost to myself and started my warm-up, only to feel slightly nauseous as I stretched before the core part of the workout. I hopped out of the pool to get away from the bobbing of the water and felt marginally better. So I got back in and finished the workout. When I slowed down for the 100m cooldown, I could feel the nausea hit again. After getting dressed, I ended up lying on the grass overlooking English Bay for an hour, feeling as if my lunch was about to rejoin the world. The same thing happened to me a couple of months ago and I have no idea why. I do tend to get motion sickness easily (I always take anti-nausea tablets when I go ocean snorkeling), but why it struck yesterday is beyond me. I didn’t fully lose the nausea until I woke up this morning. It makes me nervous about the open water swimming I will have to do in the coming months for training and in competition.

Leave a Reply

Categories

