Posted by: Tina | April 28, 2010

Workout #77 (sucking wind on the hills)

Today: HILL REPEATS.

I did the Slocan Street hill (the Sunrise bike route) from East 12th Ave to East 22nd. I was supposed to sprint 4 x 4 minutes, but the hill was only long enough for me to complete in 3:15 to 3:25, so I did an extra repeat for five total. Hill repeats of this length are tough! The hill got steeper at the top so I had to steel myself to push through and keep going right to the end. I guess this is where the mental part of training becomes very important.

Two workers were having their lunch in front of a house on the street, so I ran past them at least 8 times.  I’m fairly certain they were from a culture in which hill repeats are not a standard form of exercise.  I couldn’t help but think how ridiculous it must seem to see someone intentionally running up and down a hill. How pointless! How futile! How painful! How stupid! Although, I suppose you could be from Canada and think the same thing if you were to see a red-faced girl with a grimace on her face and panting with exertion run past you over and over again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

