Posted by: Tina | July 15, 2010

Workout #120 (swimming with ear plugs)

Success!

I tried swimming with ear plugs this morning and I am happy to report that I experienced no dizziness whatsoever. I got a full workout in, plus practiced entries and exits and I felt completely normal the whole time! From what I understand, it has something to do with the cold water getting into my ears and disrupting my equilibrium. I am more susceptible because I tend to get motion sickness very easily. Perhaps the other times I’ve experienced motion sickness from swimming in the pool were because the pool was particularly cool on those days.

Thank goodness for the internet. I don’t even know what I would have done in the primitive pre-internet days. I probably would have just given up on triathlon.

I’ll give it another go tomorrow, just to check that the problem truly has been remedied by $4 earplugs.

Responses

  1. Tina,

    Have you still had success using earplugs to stop the motion sickness while swimming. I just started swimming and i got sooooo sick last night. swam for about 35 minutes and was sick for 2 hours….i am desperate to find a solution to this.

    Thanks

    Bob

    • Hi Bob, yes, they have worked. My problem tended to be in cold water so primarily when open water swimming, but sometimes I would get nausea in a regular pool. I haven’t used the earplugs in the pool but earplugs completely solved the nausea problem in open water so I suspect it could be the same for you in a pool. Doesn’t hurt to try. I just got the cheap silicone ones that you roll into a ball and stuff in your ear. Good luck! Let me know how it goes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

