Posted by: Tina | August 10, 2010

Favourite Pools in the World

Favourite pools in the world (so far):

Kitsilano Pool (Vancouver, Canada): I love Kits Pool. Several years ago when I was quite a dedicated swimmer and lived nearby, I swam there almost every day through the summer (pre-kids obviously). It’s a great length with no need for frequent stops and turns, and it never seems too busy for lengths because there are no lanes and it’s such a huge pool. You just have to pass however you want. Half the time it only seems busy because of the number of kids in the beach entry/wading parts of the pool, while the length section is clear. Early weekday mornings are the best. Yes, I live here.

North Sydney Olympic Pool (Sydney, Australia): What I wrote about it on March 19, 2001, a lifetime ago: “I can’t even begin to describe the astonishment that is Sydney on a sunny day. Or what it’s like to swim in the North Sydney Olympic pool, only to look up and see the Harbour Bridge looming over me.” I loved that pool. I loved the smell of chlorine as I walked down from the train for my morning swim. My favourite session was on one Friday June night, swimming in a deliciously salty empty 50 metres of blue pool. Look at these pictures – one and two – and you will see what I mean.

Leave a Reply

Categories

