Posted by: Tina | August 10, 2010

Workout #131 (long run)

Friday was my long run day. It started with 20 minutes in zone one, that lovely zone where I could probably run for hours (i.e. slow and easy), then I had to up the pace for each of the following three 20-minute segments so that I was at race pace for the final 20 minutes. I don’t have a heart rate monitor right now, so I just went with pace. I started with 6:20/km, then 6:00, 5:30, then just under 5:00. It felt pretty easy for the first half, and then it started to get harder as I fatigued but also had to go faster. I suppose it must mimic a race situation as you have to start at race pace after swimming and biking in a real race. It was a good workout, and I actually enjoyed my long run for once.

Leave a Reply

Categories

