Posted by: Tina | August 15, 2010

Workout #138 (final long ride)

This morning I went for my final “long” bike ride. Although I was supposed to do sprints and intervals at race pace, I went for a ride with a friend who is a competitive mountain bike racer so I pretty much pushed my pace most of the way so I could keep up with him (despite the fact he was using a heavy steel cyclocross bike). We were out for over two hours, making it more than halfway up Skaha Lake to Okanagan Falls before turning back to Naramata. It was nice to ride with someone as pretty much all of my rides have been solitary since training began.

Then I did a 15-minute race pace run, followed by 10 minutes of easy running.

The roads are packed right now with athletes training for the Ironman in two weeks. I have seen a lot of honed muscles, protruding tendons, tanned leathery skin, and skeletal frames as I train out there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

