Posted by: Tina | October 6, 2010

Track workouts

I went to Swangard Stadium yesterday for a lovely sunny track workout. My workout, sandwiched by a warm-up and cooldown, was 1600m, 1200m, 800m, and 400m, each at a faster pace and interspersed with a 400m rest interval. It was a great workout.

I find it amazing how my feelings toward track workouts have changed. At the beginning of the year, the track was a horrifying and painful specter looming ahead of me. I started dreading my track workout for the next week about five minutes after finishing the current week’s track workout. But now, with my fitness and speed vastly improved, I actually look forward to going to the track. I like the solitude of it, and the challenge of meeting my pace. I also marvel at how fast I have become. The pace I can hold now for repeats without great difficulty had me close to puking in February and March of this year. It is proof that people really can improve at running, even at the ripe old age of 34.

Of course, this probably just means that I’m not working hard enough at the track. I think track workouts are supposed to be really hard, so I should probably be making my workouts more challenging to match the improvements I have made so far.

Leave a Reply

Categories

