Posted by: Tina | October 30, 2010

All I do is run

I have been running. 3 times a week – one track, one short tempo, and one long run. In fact, I’m about to head for a long run right after I finish this post. I’m not cross-training like I am supposed to be, although I did go for a swim last Sunday, my first since the Kelowna Apple Triathlon. I do 3 x 10 push-ups after my runs, and some core work.

Obviously, this blog is not being updated as often because I don’t have a rigorous plan, nor do I have specific training or fitness goals. I’m doing the final leg of the Haney to Harrison run next week (my leg is 8 km), and then the Fall Classic 10km in 3 weeks, but the outcome of these races don’t mean a lot. I don’t want to do poorly, but I haven’t really set myself a time goal.

Motivation is tough for me right now. This was my first year “training” for something, and now I’m finding it difficult to get motivated to just exercise for fun or fitness. It seems pointless! I would consider this to be one of the negative side effects of having trained in such a disciplined way for much of the year. I’m more likely to choose to not do anything, than just go for a short jog, an easy swim, or even a step aerobics class (which once upon a time I really enjoyed).

I start a new job on Monday (unemployment is over!), so I’m going to have to figure out a routine that works for me while working full-time, parenting, and trying to stay relatively fit. Once I’ve got the rhythm of life down, I’m going to start setting new fitness goals and planning how to achieve them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

