Posted by: Tina | October 18, 2011

Granville Island Turkey Trot 2011 – Race Report

Shall we examine my personal best in a 10K? Yes?

45:49!!!

Obtained October 10, 2011 at the Granville Island Turkey Trot.

My team, Team Gobbledygook, also took the coed team division in a massive field. Of 3. But still, who doesn’t love to come in first place?

Race synopsis: Rain, then drizzle, but fun and mostly flat course around the seawall. And I think I could have been even faster, although I was sore in the days following the race. I’ve run the seawall many times over the years, but was still surprised by how quickly the kilometres flew by from Science World back to Granville Island. When I got to Science World, it felt like I was still so far away from the finish, but I was actually more than halfway.

The post-race food was suboptimal. I recruited my team members with promises of an amazing post-race spread (last year there were hors d’oeuvres!), but this year there were just platters of veggies and fruit, plus some rather pedestrian scones, muffins, and bagels. Though it was typical post-race food, I was disappointed because one of the Turkey Trot’s marketing tactics is to highlight the quality of the post-race food.

Other than that, it was great. I would like to reiterate that this was not only a personal best, but the achievement of a goal to run 10k in under 46 minutes. Huzzah!

Gun vs. Chip Time: An Aside

Although I knew when I finished that I had achieved a personal best, I wanted to know if my official time got me under my goal of coming in under 46 minutes. The first set of posted results showed gun time only, which put my time just over 46 minutes. I really wanted the official chip time results. Consequently, I turned into an annoying pest, asking the organizers within hours of race finish about chip versus gun time and whether/when they would be putting up chip time.

I should note that I have never been in a race where organizers did not end up posting chip times, so I knew I didn’t need to have my panties in such a bunch. But I was so impatient to know! They posted the chip times the next day and I whooped jubilantly when I saw my final time (goal achieved!).

In the course of my pestering and research, I did learn that IAAF (International Association of Athletics Federations) rules say awards should be based on gun time only. The Timex BC Road Running Series says that chip times are “for personal interest only.” So if you think you can be a contender, it’s best to be right up at the front at race start.

Leave a Reply

Categories

