Posted by: Tina | January 31, 2012

Man stew: random observations at swim practice

Observations from last night’s swim:

  • UBC Aquatic Centre washes all clothing items left behind in its change rooms. I retrieved from the lost and found the swimsuit I left hanging on the shower stall last week, and it is spic and span! Next time I’ll “forget” a load of laundry.
  • Some juvenile has scraped a large outline of a penis on the black line at the bottom of my swim lane. I noticed it last week, thought it was temporary, but there it was again this week.
  • I need to up the potassium intake – read, bananas – because I got a wicked cramp when taking off on the 25m sprints with fins. I had to flounder my way to the end of the lane.
  • I regularly underestimate my speed at swimming. I have to move up a lane next week.
  • The hot tub at the aquatic centre is total man stew. I do not think I will ever again submerse myself up to my neck in that cesspool (and I’m not the squeamish type).

And, finally…

  • I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I rarely regret the workouts I complete, but often regret the ones I miss. I’m glad I went.
Responses

  1. […] Monday, January 30 (#23): Back to UBC Aquatic Centre for the weekly club swim. My swim speed seems to have picked up, and I’ll be moving over a lane next week. Some other general observations. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

