Posted by: Tina | February 3, 2012

Week 5: Shift to bike focus

My training seems to be shifting to a bike focus, which is the plan this year.  The bike portion of the triathlon is clearly my weakest point. I need to get the aerobars set up on my bike pretty soon, although I am a bit nervous about actually using them.

I am a little concerned that my run mileage is going down, so I’ll talk to my coach about it this week. I wonder if I can add a run on the days that I’m swimming. I don’t want to just add on “junk” mileage, so I’ll see what she says.

Sunday, January 29 (#22): 1hr 30 minutes, Z1, on the bike trainer in the garage. Hooray for Netflix, or I don’t think I would be able to get through that much time on the trainer. Even with something to watch, I was checking my watch often by the third episode of Californication. Still, there is something to be said for using the trainer. No coasting, no stops, just steady Z1 pace. My legs were even a bit sore by Monday morning.

Monday, January 30 (#23): Back to UBC Aquatic Centre for the weekly club swim. My swim speed seems to have picked up, and I’ll be moving over a lane next week. Some other general observations.

Tuesday, January 31 (#24): First brick workout of the year. I snuck to the gym after work to do 45 minutes Z1 on the bike, followed by a fast transition to 10 minutes Z1 running on the treadmill. Worked up a pretty good sweat. I needed this after a massive lunch of noodles at Lao Shan Dong Noodle House.

Wednesday, February 1 (#25): Kick focus. Warm-up, kicking, then 6x200m with 50m easy kicking in between. Total 2100m. My swim workouts are getting longer, so I need to start getting up earlier to get in a full hour-long workout. Daily swim observation: an older gentleman in the medium-speed lane was swimming with ski goggles. Cross my heart.

Thursday, February 2 (#26): 30s hard fast runs up a moderate hill, with a warm-up and cooldown run, completed at lunch on a relatively nice day. It was my first time out this year without a jacket layer, since it was warm (9 degrees).

Friday, February 3 (#27): Alternating intervals of Z3 and Z1 on the bike trainer in the garage in the early morning.

Glad it’s the weekend tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Categories

