Posted by: Tina | March 11, 2012

Week 9: Working toward a ski trip break

Monday, February 27 (#46): It was a very cold swim workout with the usual bunch in the Pacific Spirit Triathlon Club. The air temperature was close to zero degrees and every swoop of my wet arm through the air was chilling.

Tuesday, February 28 (#47): Triple brick workout. The main set was the following cycle three times: seven minutes in Z3 on the bike, six-minute Z4 run, then four minutes easy walking. In my Training Peaks comments, I wrote, “Agggh!”

Wednesday, February 29 (#48): Swim test. Unfortunately, I had to do this with the pull buoy because my knee is still bothering me. My results were 1:30 for 100m, and 29:20 for 1500m (half with pull buoy). This isn’t too bad, and fairly close to my race results.

Thursday, March 1 (#49): About an hour on the bike, alternating Z3 intervals with Z1. Still reading Roger Ebert’s Life Itself.

Friday, March 2 (#50): This was supposed to be a track workout but my knee has been bothering me and my coach suggested I swap out some of my run workouts with the bike. I also got caught up with work, so I only managed 40 minutes on the bike.

The rest of my weekend was given over to a SKI TRIP! So no long runs/bikes for me for four days. This was really nice because I was starting to feel like I needed a bit of a break from six-days-a-week workouts. I’m pretty sure my legs got a workout anyway since they were screaming at me after just half a day on the slopes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

