Posted by: Tina | March 31, 2012

Week 13: Injury and tears

It was a rough week. Injury continues and tears were shed. I took off three full days to recalibrate, but I am going to have to take serious action if I want to continue with triathlon or any kind of speed or endurance competition.

Monday, March 26 (#66): I tried to take it easy in the pool because I was very tired. I felt like I was going to fall asleep while driving to the pool. I tried to stay at the back of the lane, but ended up second in line by the fourth critical swim speed set. I am not the fastest swimmer over a short period of time, but I’m often faster over a longer period or multiple sets; thus, the creep up on the others in my lane. As an aside, it does amaze me how much some swimmers – usually the guys – seem to struggle for speed in the pool. It reinforces that swimming is mostly technique and efficiency, not strength and effort expended.

Tuesday, March 27 (#67): I spent just over an hour on the spin bike at the gym, alternating 8-minute Z3 intervals with 5-minute Z1. A lot of sweat dripped on to the floor.

Saturday, March 31 (#68): One hour on the bike trainer in Z1. It was all I could muster.

Leave a Reply

Categories

